Netflix launches “Profile Transfer” feature as part of a crackdown on Password Sharing

Password Sharing on Netflix is almost a thing of the past.

On Monday, Netflix announced the launch of profile transfer, a feature that allows people to transfer their Netflix profile to another account. The new feature is part of Netflix’s plan to crack down on password sharing.

The streaming giant launched the new profile transfer feature to encourage freeloaders to finally pay for their accounts.

The feature enables users to migrate from one existing account to another without having to rebuild their profile. This stops their personal information from being deleted, including their watch history, list of favorite seasons, episodes, and movies, and other settings that could be frustrating to lose and have to reset.

People move. Families grow. Relationships end. But throughout these life changes, your Netflix experience should stay the same, Timi Kosztin, product manager, Product Innovation, Netflix, wrote while explaining the feature in his blog.

The feature was rolled out on Monday and streamers were notified via email. Users can go to their profile icon on the Netflix homepage and find the “Profile Transfer” option. The “Profile Transfer” option can also be turned off in account settings.

As per Netflix’s Q1 2022 earnings report, the streaming giant reported that about 100 million households have password freeloaders, which has been identified as a major contributor to the streaming service’s problems. With the new feature, Netflix is looking for ways to earn more revenue. 

In March, Netflix introduced a feature called “extra members” in Chile, Costa Rica, and Peru that charges users extra fees for additional people using their accounts. Since July, users from Argentina, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Salvador have been testing Netflix’s “add a home” feature.